Gloria Macarenko, Darren Entwistle, and Jo-ann Archibald among British Columbians appointed to Order of Canada


A retired Indigenous educator, a hypercompetitive CEO, a CBC broadcaster, and a philanthropist are among the B.C. members honoured by Gov.-Gen. Julie Payette.

Jo-ann Archibald Q’um Q’um Xiiem, a professor emeritus of educational studies UBC’s faculty of education, was named an officer of the Order of Canada.

She’s a member of the Stó:lō/Soowahlie and St’at’imc/Xaxli’p First Nations and has been a pioneer in promoting approaches to help Indigenous learners succeed.

Archibald also wrote a chapter in the recent book Memory, which was published by the Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies.

Jo-ann Arcchibald is an author and expert on Indigenous educational history.

Vancouverites named as members of the order of Canada are:

* Telus chairman and CEO Darren Entwistle

* Athlete, coach, and educator Robert Hindmarch

* Heath philanthropist Robert Hung-Ngai Ho

* The host of CBC Radio’s On the Coast, Gloria Macarenko

* A&W Food Services of Canada chair emeritus and Vancouver Canadians co-owner Jeff Mooney

* Paralymic swimmer and Canucks Autism Network program manager Elisabeth Walker-Young

Telus president and CEO Darren Entwistle has promoted the concept of “give where you live” to his employees.



Source link

READ ALSO  Endurance International Group Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ:EIGI)Can It Go Yet Another Gear,
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :